Top albums of 2011(opinion)

1.The Black Dahlia Murders "Ritual"-Their magnum opus(In my opinion) Blending a brutal death metal assault with a slight melodic edge. Ryan Knight Really Grew into the band in this release.
Favorite Tracks-A Shrine to Madness...Every goddamn track on the record.

The Black Dahlia Murder Ritual

2.Septic Flesh "The Great Mass"-Perfect blend of orchestration and death metal.
Favorite tracks-Oceans of Grey,Apocalypse,The Undead Keep Dreaming,The Vampire From Nazareth.(I showed a member of this bands artwork in an earlier post http://www.sharenator.com/Another_artist_I_enjoy/ )

Septic flesh the great mass

3.Machine Head "Unto the Locust"-Up to par or bests "The Blackening"
Favorite Tracks-I Am Hell(sonata in c#), This is the End,Unto the Locust

Unto The Locust

4.Fleshgod Apocalypse "Agony"-Italian death metal artist's return with their blend of classically influenced death metal but with a change, a significant increase in the use of symphonic's which adds real flavor to all the tracks.
Favorite Tracks-The Egoism,The Hipocrisy,The Betrayal

fleshgod - top albums of 2011(opinion)

5.Rotten Sound "Cursed" This is Gindcore, You like it or you don't.Did a post of these guys earlier also( http://www.sharenator.com/Rotten_Sound/ )

ROTTEN SOUND Cursed

6.Immolation "Providence"-Heavy as fuck EP
Favorite Tracks-Illumination,Swallow the Fear

immoprovidence - top albums of 2011(opinion)



7.Origin "Entity"-Tech Death done right, Being extremely technical and still being able to keep them in cohesive songs.
Favorite Tracks-Expulsion of Fury,Saliga,Banishing Illusion, Consequence of Solution.

origin entity

8.Puscifer "Conditions of My Parole"-Im Maynard James Keenan fanboy,Shit is good.
Favorite Tracks-Green Valley,Telling Ghosts,Toma,The Rapture(Fear is a Mind Killa Mix),Conditions of My Parole.


Conditions of My Parole Review

9.Rise Against "Endgame"- As Good as pop punk is ever going to get.
Favorite Tracks-Make it Stop(Septembers End),Disparity By Design,Midnight Hands,Broken Mirrors.

220px riseagainstendgame - top albums of 2011(opinion)

10.Decapitated "Carnival is Forever"-They're back but without vitek and they're old vocalist.The new vocals are a little hardcore reminiscent but good and the new drummer does vitek's memory good.
Favorite Tracks-The Knife,Carnival Is Forever,A View From a Hole,Homo Sum,Pest

decapitated carnival is forever


Honorable Mentions and Pleasent surprises-
-All Shall Perish "This is The End" Technical deathcore some of the only deathcore ill listen to in fact.
-DevilDriver "Beast"
-Becoming the Archetype "Celestial Completion"-Good,Wish it was more int he vain of their older records though.
-Chevelle "Hats off to the Bull"-Chevelle is as Chevelle does.
-Mastodon "The Hunter"-Prog Metal legends return with a fun record.
-The Human Abstract "Digital Veil" Tech/Prog goodness, i'm a sucker for this shit
-Harms Way "Isolation"-Hardcore at its finest.
-Trap Them "Darker Handcraft"
-Ulcerate "The Destroyers of All"-Really should be in the top ten but I couldn't find a place.Atmospheric death metal nothing more to say.
-Dying Fetus "History Repeats Ep"- A death metal band covers death metal.
-The Black Keys "El Camino"-just got into these guys good stuff.
Haven't had the chance to listen to the new opeth or it would be on here some where.
So What are Your favorites of the year?

You might be interested

Comments

Reply Attach
  • 3

    Someones been rating me down :(

    how'd you know?
    and here's a +1 to make it better for you ;)
    - Fail4424 December 30, 2011, 7:14 pm
    i've +3ed it
    you were on the front page and now you are back to the unrated posts :)
    don't worry.. MissRandom got your back :)
    - MissRandom December 30, 2011, 7:26 pm
    Why, thank you. Also how I know is that on some of my comments the is a +0
    - Turtlestlker December 30, 2011, 7:39 pm
    that is horrible!
    dun worry abbout that either
    mean ppl! downrating for no reason!
    - MissRandom December 30, 2011, 7:47 pm
    Reply
  • 1

    never heard of any of these..

    Well most of these are extreme metal, so that is to be expected though im surprised to see you've never heard of rise against. Whats your favorite of the year?
    - Turtlestlker December 30, 2011, 4:02 pm
    i listen to some metal. oh, and Rise Against is the Only one i heard of! I didnt realize that was a band i used to listen to. Well i must say, in my opinion, the best album that came out this year was Panic! at the Disco vices and virtues. ^_^

    Out of al these what was your favorite?
    - sessyann December 30, 2011, 4:58 pm
    Don't Listen to Panic, but if you were asking what my favorite of my list was it was most defiantly The Black Dahlia Murder's Ritual.
    - Turtlestlker December 30, 2011, 5:05 pm
    oh Panic is amazing, and i will be sure to check that out
    - sessyann December 30, 2011, 5:24 pm
    If your into death metal go for it, though if your not you'll find it a bit abrasive. Also if you really religious i would not recommend it. If you are still not deterred i would listen to Moonlight Equilibium, and this is not from ritual but it still an extremely fun song "What a Horrible Night to Have a Curse" its about castlevania.
    - Turtlestlker December 30, 2011, 5:30 pm
    ok thanks :)
    - sessyann December 30, 2011, 5:38 pm
    Would Actually recommend What a Horrible Night To Have a Curse before Moonlight Equilibrium, Just more fun to listen to over all
    - Turtlestlker December 30, 2011, 5:40 pm
    Reply
  • 1

    img 1315499316 b88ad5fa7c7423e7116d27e3cf96a9dc - top albums of 2011(opinion)

    • Disco
    • December 30, 2011, 7:01 am
    Heard that was good haven't listened to it though.As far as thrash goes I've been getting into Slayer a bit.
    - Turtlestlker December 30, 2011, 4:03 pm
    Reply
  • 1

    Don't really buy albums, prefer just individual songs by various people :P
    so i would have to say this is my favourite albulm of 2011:

    now 80 - top albums of 2011(opinion)

    Never got into music older than maybe the 90's excluding some punk.
    - Turtlestlker December 30, 2011, 4:21 pm
    :'(
    the problem with this album is they blanked out all the swear words, and i dunno how to get them on it!!
    its so annoying!!!!!
    - Fail4424 December 30, 2011, 4:22 pm
    Where did you buy it, also was it digital or physical?
    - Turtlestlker December 30, 2011, 4:29 pm
    urmm, i think she got it through amazon, and physical, a CD
    - Fail4424 December 30, 2011, 4:31 pm
    Well it may have had clean in the description when whoever bought it purchased it. Other than to buy or pirate another copy that's not clean there is no way to get the swearing back on it.
    - Turtlestlker December 30, 2011, 4:34 pm
    no, there was only 1 version available to buy :/
    - Fail4424 December 30, 2011, 4:44 pm
    I don't really like metal so I haven't heard of any of those, but I'm 100% positive they're better than "NOW Thats What I Call Music, volume: 80"... Those albums always suck dick
    - poopiteepoop December 30, 2011, 4:45 pm
    even tho this albulm has a lot of the top songs that were in the charts recently, so they're the public's favourite songs, and my fav's as well, all rolled into one CD
    what could be better?? :P
    - Fail4424 December 30, 2011, 4:48 pm
    It's basically just Radio 1's repeated playlist. But hey, if that's what you're into go for it
    - poopiteepoop December 30, 2011, 4:49 pm
    Pirate the original tracks?
    - Turtlestlker December 30, 2011, 4:50 pm
    which is why i asked for it for christmas!
    the no swear words is such a piss take tho, might even have to re-buy some of the songs just to get them back
    and one song i'm pritty sure they cut some of it out, like how the radio often cuts out bits from songs, like 'love the way you lie'-eminem and riannah, heard it?
    - Fail4424 December 30, 2011, 4:51 pm
    naa, probbs just buy sum of them again
    and loads of people i know have already bought sum of the songs on it, so probbs jus get them to send sum of them to me
    - Fail4424 December 30, 2011, 4:52 pm
    yeah, shame man, since you bought them once you may as well just download the uncut ones now
    - poopiteepoop December 31, 2011, 9:34 am
    yer, but some friends have also got them, so gan get some from them :D
    but some others might have to be re-bought :'(
    - Fail4424 December 31, 2011, 11:57 am
    Reply
  • 1

    Nothing but core and -shivers- fauxpunk.
    Where the hell is the musical releases?
    :p jk.
    BDM, and SF aren't bad.
    Is that pop-punk band really worth a listen? Don't get me wrong, I have an open mind in music, just not denotation. (See: fxrs usually aren't punk.)

    Only core(in the top ten at least) on there is Rotten sound(and that's grind) and maybe MachineHead,as far as the pop punk band goes I enjoyed it. listen to it on youtube before you buy though.Ulcerate's new release could easily take its place in its slot but i felt the list needed some varity.
    - Turtlestlker December 30, 2011, 4:49 pm
    Reply
  • 1

    1) Maybeshewill - I Was Here For a Moment, Then I Was Gone
    2) This Will Destroy You - Tunnel Blanket
    3) Explosions in the Sky - Take Care, Take Care, Take Care
    4) 65daysofstatic - Silent Running
    5) Mogwai - Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will
    6) And So I Watch You From Afar - Gangs

    Post-rock FTW :D

    Reply
Related Posts