Fallout: New Vegas Written Review

fallout new vegas 20100830 133521

This game was decent at best. This is in no way a Fallout 4, nor better than any of the previous games. Its complexity in the simple things and its simplicity in the most complicated things astounded me.

So you're a courier who was ambushed while delivering a package which is later revealed to be an object that can take over New Vegas.

It's story is quite basic, but the side quests seem to be alot more interesting than the main story. There are new enemies, weapon mods (scopes, silencers, etc.), more quests and locations. But these new features don't exactly overlook the numerous bugs I've encountered throughout the game. Another new feature is the faction system which allows you to side with whom ever one you want. Which ones you ally with will affect the end of the game. (Which was as disappointing as the ending of Fallout 3. There are two modes of difficulty. Hardcore, and normal. In hardcore, you get dehydration, and no item is weightless. It's not for the ones with the attention span of a rodent.

In short, I give it a 7/10.

Thanks Obsidian. You've now ruined two sequels for me. KOTOR 2 and this.

Go ahead and interpret or argue below.

  • mienftw
  • October 28, 2010, 2:21 pm
You might be interested


Reply Attach
  • 3

    Awesome +1 just for Scarlett
    - MalverdeAl100 February 1, 2011, 10:45 am
  • 2

    8.5/10, not quite fallout 3, but still loving it. Yet to come across any game breaking bugs, you on the PC?

    Yeah, I'm on the PC. I've crashed several time while trying to walk into the town of Novac, and also when walking to New Vegas from the Goodsprings Graveyard. Game breaking, no.
    - mienftw October 28, 2010, 3:29 pm
    Ah ok, yeah im about 30 hours in and i've had around 10 crashes, game loads up quickly and autosave helps alot, so not much hastle.
    - pureawesomeness October 28, 2010, 3:36 pm
    The loading time isn't as fast as Fallout 3. I found that disappointing.
    - mienftw October 28, 2010, 6:46 pm
    Can't compare them, had Fallout 3 for console, however from desktop to playing its taking less than 25 seconds.
    - pureawesomeness October 29, 2010, 1:16 am
    Knew you'd be the first to comment on this XD
    - SuDoku October 29, 2010, 1:36 am
  • 2

    fallout new vegas is soo much fun i think that they should take some stuff from fallout 3 to add into it. but it is still the same basic game. i would have like for the story to have been longer. and maybe more mini quests. but it is still a good game i think that fallout 3 will no longer realy be played since new vegas has came out. and i give weapons on the game a 9.5 because u can mod them and new ammo such as arrmour pericing. 8.5 on story and missions 7.5 because im tierd of walking (but i love finding new places and loot) soo that gives the game a overall of 8.5.

    Yes, yes, yes
    - MalverdeAl100 April 19, 2011, 1:17 pm
  • 1

    I've put about 10 hours into this game and i'm still finding it fun. It's not fallout 3, but there same memorable moments. I CRUCIFIED BENNY!!!! LLOLOLOLOLOLO

    • Jozzoh
    • October 28, 2010, 8:39 pm
    We said we were going to sleep with him, then killed him... >xD
    - Dawn October 29, 2010, 1:21 am
    I SAVED HIM. Although, tbf, i was playing on super easy mode so i just ran away, wasting only a few stimpaks. =) I couldn't find it in my heart to kill him.
    - Mattty21 November 10, 2010, 10:50 am
    i wanted the satisfaction of cutting him up so i dueled him
    - Tremp20k February 1, 2011, 10:27 am
  • 1

    Well I have it reserved but haven't been able to pick it up yet due to my financial situation at this time. But i can't wait to play it.

    yeah after hearing it was made by obsidian i decided i wasn't going to pay for it... if i do decide to get it i wont be paying for it thats for sure
    - Dragkyre October 28, 2010, 9:08 pm
    I'm still hopeful.
    - Jofus1992 October 29, 2010, 5:08 am
  • 1

    The gameplay is almost exactly the same as Fallout 3 in almost every mechanic other then a few tweaks that actually make it better. As an example in Fallout 3 you couldn't aim down the iron sights of your gun, so Vats was really your best chance for a precision shot. In New Vegas, we have not even used Vats once since we can use Iron Sights and Scopes.

    The story itself is rather dry, that's a hard claim to deny no matter who makes it. However there are plenty of side quests and easter eggs of a comical nature to make up for it so long as you understand the references. As an example of that, if you have on the 'Wild Wastes' Perk (Forgot the actual name) when you leave the first town in the game you will see a refrigerator on the side of the road. Moving closer shows a man's skeleton inside of it wearing a Fedora... ...Indiana Jones anyone?

    Sure it can be argued that Hardcore mode is annoying and way too hard, but we believe that IS the point of a Hardcore mode in a video game, so mission accomplished. Just playing the normal mode is fun enough to not even bother with Hardcore.

    Killing Cesar has never been so much fun, making a dramatic escape afterward never so incredibly laughable (Guys chasing you with Machetes when you have a MINIGUN. Life is good... ^^ )
    And Obsidian actually made one pretty damn good sequel. Unless you are a major Fallout fan or fanatic, don't pay $60 for it. But make sure you play it at least once before it disappears forever. Don't worry, you've got a good long while... ...which is good, because like any Fallout game this one will suck a good long time out of you where you won't speak to family or friends.

    • Dawn
    • October 29, 2010, 1:30 am
    alot of the little thing of the combat make it hard to go back to fallout 3 especially after just playing vegas
    - Tremp20k February 1, 2011, 10:28 am
  • 1

    nice review with spoilers in the first few sentences.

    also, if you think that about it not being a good game because its similar to the first, you must think every mario game sequal is a piece of shit.

    most of the bugs were fixed through the update. and mostly were gameplay glitches, like a quest item that is no longer a quest item that i cant drop.. no real effect on the game. but i'm playing it on xbox 360. pc games are usually riddled with bugs and glitches.

    • c8r15
    • October 29, 2010, 5:15 am
  • 1

    Lets not forget the travesty that was Neverwinter Nights 2. The only decent game that Obsidian did IMO, was Alpha Protocol, and even that was bug riddled. Is it REALLY that hard to find decent QA people? Too bad as when you got past the bugs, it was one of the better games that I've ever played.

    GOD, yes. Alpha Protocol! +1
    - rain42 November 10, 2010, 10:40 am
  • 1

    GOGO ~tgm

    • rain42
    • November 10, 2010, 10:39 am
  • 1

    good review.
    got the game for christmas because i ended up enjoying fallout 3 so thought this might be better but it isnt in any way.
    i cant actually think of one fun or intresting quest. the ghoul one seems good at first but ends up being a bore. i expected new vegas itself to be livily with its huge bright casinos but it is completey dead 10 people sat down in a huge room doesnt exactly shout excitement. also the story is horrible, fallout 3 was ok and the actually scary or funny or disturbeing or just good side quests helped it. but new vegas is ridonky, Factions?! the yes man mission where hes like oh go to every faction and see which one you like had my head explode. could they not make that choice seem a little more natural so maybe as you progess you find out about them. half the ones he says i hadnt even heard of and hes asking if i want them to run vegas. Also the map i think is bigger but they seem to have put less places in which is wierd. oh apart from abandoned shacks or a dry lake exicting huh.
    Oblivion 10/10 fallout 3 7.7/10 new vegas 4/10

    explains better
    also can anyone name one good quest?

    • jamdogg
    • February 1, 2011, 9:25 am
  • 1

    my ps3 YLOD'd........ -_-

  • -1

    oh shit... obsidian made this!!! fuck so glad i got Fallout 3 instead of new vegas..... FUCK I HATE MOTHER FUCKING STUPID ASS CUNT SHIT OBSIDIAN!!!!

    i cant understand who would down-rate this.
    - arrowdodger7 April 19, 2011, 2:32 pm
    Fish, fish would want to down rate this. Also, the game.
    - ember April 19, 2011, 2:37 pm
    then i shall catch every fish and tell them to not do so. Also,
    *le fu*
    - arrowdodger7 April 19, 2011, 4:48 pm
Related Posts